top of page

Indigenous American Native Religious Ceremonies


Long ago, and immediately after our first parents were placed on this earth, the Creator (Great Spirit) provided sacred ceremonies for them because they had a mist brought over their minds that clouded their memories. The purposes of these ceremonies were, and still are to assist two-leggeds, also known as human beings, to re-remember their godly ancestry, and to encourage following the promptings of their hearts, the Great Spirit’s direct communication modality.

All of the following ceremonies remain with us today due to the courage and tenaciousness of our indigenous ancestors and their descendant’s refusal to relinquish their ancient teachings to ‘prideful’ and ‘greedy’ influences.  These influences have sought throughout human history to destroy or marginalize the practicing of these ceremonies.


(Detailed Links for each Ceremony Coming Soon!)


1.    The Birth (Blessing Way) Ceremony – honors the passing into a new existence of all earthly beings.


2.    The Sacred Breath Ceremony – Two important purposes for this ceremony are 1) to have the Great Spirit infiltrate every cell of one’s body and 2) to assist the participant in experiencing unconditional love.


3.    Holy Anointing by the Laying on of Hands Ceremony – Throughout history Medicine People have been aware of the effects of touch and contact with the essences of plants, oils and herbs on the body, mind and emotions.  They utilize ceremonial touch and fragrance of seeds, roots, barks, flowers and leaves in ritual healing that assist in the empowering and healing process.


4.    The Marriage Blanket Ceremony – honors the public with an open commitment of two or more people to serve the human family unit for life and all eternity.


5.    The Passing on of Spirit Ceremony – honors the passing of any earthly beings into the next realm of Existence.


6.    The Potlatch Ceremony – Distribution of Wealth.


7.    The Sacred Prayer Pipe (Casuse and/ or Chanunpa) Ceremony – Three important purposes for this ceremony are; 1) Remind the participants to honor and respect the power of prayer, 2) assist in unity and respect of male and female differences, and 3) activate the law of synergy to assist all participants in achieving their heartfelt desires.


8.    The Sacrament (Peyote) Ceremony – Three important purposes for this ceremony are 1) to rediscover ones innate goodness, 2) assist in the forgiveness process for oneself and others, and 3) to reside in truth (Good Health-Spiritually, Emotionally and Physically).


9.    The Ghost Dance (Spirit Dance) Ceremony – A celebration of the Millennium and living in gratitude.


10.  The Sun Dance Ceremony – Sacrifice oneself for the people and to lead a life of service.


11.  The Sweat Lodge (Amacheekee / Inipi) Ceremony – Two important purposes for this ceremony are 1) remind the participants to honor and respect the creative process and 2) assist the participants to honor and respect all of one’s relatives, especially one’s biological mother and father.


12. The Vision Quest or Hanblecheyapi Ceremony – enables human beings to re-remember and understand the mission that they had previously committed to achieving before their spirit assumed its earthly body and introduce them to or discover their spirit guides or inspirations.


13. The Green Corn Ceremony - With regard to the Seminole’s Green Corn Dance, Danny Billie says: ”It defines who we are and what we are as traditional Indian people. It is the heart and soul of the traditional Seminole way of life.”



Return to The Sacrament Ceremony



bottom of page